Lifestyle Woes and Cooking

I have a confession.Eat for Energy

I haven’t used my kitchen to cook in two years. TWO YEARS. I don’t have much in my fridge besides the occasional apple.  And I have nothing in my cabinets besides some nuts.  Why?

I have a weekly standing dinner date with a friend and in addition to that I’m on the go at least two days of the week to stay at my boyfriend’s apartment and am gone almost every weekend for the same. I don’t want to spend money on groceries if I’m never home / they are going to go bad.

I work late.  At my previous job coming home and cooking after work and the gym was SO therapeutic.  It was alone time I looked forward to. Getting home past 8 o’clock on average – the last thing I want to do is cook.  I usually wind up eating a THIRD meal at my desk or just pick up something quick to nosh on.

I am clearly craving some stability in this area.  Being a domestic goddess is not in my nature however, this summer I will be cohabitating with a very handsome man with a big appetite and I cannot tell you how excited I am to grocery shop, cook and prep meals, and become more experienced and comfortable in the kitchen. I cannot wait to try all the recipes I’ve been flagging, pinning and storing away for a “later date”!

Maybe it’s where the mid-twenties non-married life come in to play where socializing and convenience takes priority but this way of life is not uncommon in NYC and many of my friends can relate.  Read: maybe if Seamless wasn’t so damn easy we’d all be more keen on cooking.

Relevant Reading Material: This article about Michael Pollan’s new book “Cooked: A Natural History of Transformation” aligns nicely with the Institute for Integrative Nutrition’s curriculum – teaching the importance of cooking at home while providing nonintimidating steps, tools and pep talks to get our butts in the kitchen!

So, what’s cookin’?

Leave a Reply

